Super Dirt Week Practice Day

Posted: October 5, 2017 in Racing
Tags: , , , , , , , ,


First Day Of Super Dirt Week 46

While I was driving to Oswego, NY for the 46th annual SuperDirt Week.  I was think about all of the years that I have been going to this Race. I had the same butterfly’s in my stomach that I used to get when I was much younger. 1973 was my first SDW , and I have loved this Race from day one. Last year was the first SDW at the Oswego Speedway. The original home of SDW was at the NYS fairgrounds, but state politicians thought that the mile track in Syracuse should be removed, and it was. Some people say that SDW is over now that it is in Oswego. I say no way. It is still SDW to me, the best of the best drivers are on hand just like they always have been. 

So back to my ride up for day one in Oswego. I was thinking about all of the Racing I had seen, and all of the great drivers past and present turn laps at SDW. Last year was definitely a different SDW, but still enjoyable. The track came apart but the Racing was great. 

I think most of us were watching the track during first practice to see what it was going to do. So far so good. The surface was fast and smooth. I loved it and can’t wait for time trials Thursday in Oswego. Stay tuned for more updates from this years SDW. 

Take care,

John  

Leave a comment